Experts to shape and develop road safety strategies

Share this

30 Jan 2017

The Road Safety Commission will consult with the newly formed Panel of Experts to shape and develop the delivery of the State Government’s road safety strategy - Towards Zero 2008-2020.

Five contracts have now been awarded by the State Government.

The successful applicants are:

  • Professor Anne Williamson, Director Transport and Road Safety (TARS) Research Centre, NSW
  • Cardno (WA) Pty Ltd represented by Mr Ray Cook, Senior Principal Manager, Traffic and Transport Planning from Cardno (WA) Pty Ltd
  • Australian Road Research Board (ARRB) represented by Dr Paul Roberts, Principal Behavioural Scientist,
  • Monash University Accident Research Centre (MUARC) represented by Dr David Logan, Senior Research Fellow, and Stewart Newstead, Associate Professor, and
  • Centre for Accident Research & Road Safety – Queensland (CARRS-Q), Queensland University of Technology represented by Professor Narelle Haworth.

The Panel of Experts will be remunerated for tasks that include:

  • assistance in the development of road safety policy and strategy,
  • expert advice and input at road safety think-tanks in Perth, and
  • specific road safety research project work.

The expert panel is the fourth and final branch of the Advisory Framework Pathways for Road Safety Innovation, that already includes the Road Safety Advisory Board, Vulnerable Road Users’ Group and the Industry Road Safety Alliances.


Claire Thomas

0467 802 855

Share this