Saving Lives Together

Global road safety experts converge on Perth

The State Government welcomes more than 600 delegates to Perth for the 2017 Australasian Road Safety Conference, the largest road safety conference in the southern hemisphere.

10 Oct 2017
The State Government welcomes more than 600 delegates to Perth for the 2017 <a href="/Australasian-Road-Safety-Conference" target="_self" title="Link to Australasian Road Safety Conference page, opening in the same window">Australasian Road Safety Conference</a>, the largest road safety conference in the southern hemisphere.<br />
<br />
Acting Road Safety Commissioner Iain Cameron said the three-day event would explore road safety solutions from across the region, as well as overseas, in line with the State Government&rsquo;s road safety strategy <a href="/About/Role-of-the-Commission/Towards-Zero-Strategy" target="_self" title="Link to Towards Zero strategy page, opening in the same window">Towards Zero 2008-2020</a>.<br />
<br />
&ldquo;It&rsquo;s an honour to host this calibre of road safety researchers, practitioners, policy-makers and industry in our city to share knowledge and expertise that will save lives on our roads,&rdquo; said Mr Cameron.
<blockquote>The conference provides a collaborative and supportive environment for the latest road safety research, education and enforcement programs and policies to be shared among like-minded people.</blockquote>
Keynote speaker Dr Mark Rosekind is a former US National Highway Traffic Safety Administrator, and now Chief Safety Innovation Officer for autonomous car manufacturer Zoox.<br />
<br />
&ldquo;Dr Rosekind is a passionate safety professional with more than 30 years&rsquo; experience,&rdquo; said Mr Cameron.<br />
<br />
&ldquo;We are fortunate to have such expertise available to the 2017 ARSC delegates, particularly with the worldwide interest around the introduction of autonomous vehicles and what that means for road safety in the future.&rdquo;<br />
<br />
The 2017 Australasian Road Safety Conference is presented in partnership with the Australasian College of Road Safety, Austroads, ARRB and Curtin Monash Accident Research Centre (C-MARC).