Saving Lives Together

Our Program

WA Road Safety Research and Evaluation Program

In December 2019, the University of Western Australia was awarded a five-year contract to conduct planned and reactive road safety research to reduce road trauma in Western Australia.

The Road Safety Council has tasked UWA with establishing the Western Australian Centre for Road Safety Research, an important resource for the development of road safety strategies and policies into the future.

The Curtin Monash Accident Research Centre held Western Australia’s road safety research contract between 31 December 2014 and 31 December 2019.

Road Safety Research Review Committee

The Road Safety Research and Evaluation Program is informed by the Road Safety Research Review Committee (RSRRC), Chaired by the Commission’s Assistant Director Strategy and Policy. The RSRRC is a sub-committee to the Road Safety Council with representation from across government and community.

The RSRRC role is to provide strategic road safety advice from across the respective agencies in relation to future research. This enables the Commission to ensure that future research:

  • Aligns to whole of government priorities and thereby, is responsive to the current road safety issues and emerging trends relevant to WA.
  • Increases the road safety research base within WA.
  • Avoids duplication of research within WA.
  • Represents return on investment for WA.

Road Safety Research Review Committee members

Road Safety Commission
Melissa Parry

Melissa has several years’ experience working for Government in developing social and public policy, including strategy development.  She also has experience in service delivery, including in regional and remote WA and within Aboriginal communities.  Melissa and her policy team are coordinating the development of the state’s next Road Safety Strategy on behalf of the Road Safety Council to follow on from Towards Zero. To that effect, the Road Safety Research Program that Melissa manages is integral to inform the future of road safety outcomes in Western Australia.

Road Safety Commission
Parik Lumb

Parik Lumb is a Principal Policy Officer at the Road Safety Commission. He has a background in licensing, road safety, motorcycle safety.  He is currently coordinating extensive community consultation about the next State road safety strategy.

Main Roads Dept
Hayley Lajszczak

Hayley Lajszczakis the Road Safety Research and Evaluation Manager at Main Road Western Australia, supporting the organisation in undertaking research that translates to road design, policy and operational improvements in road user safety. Hayley is an economist and program manager with over 10 years combined experience in investment planning for large roads infrastructure projects and strategic innovation and research.

Road user representative
Jill Darby

Jill Darby is a passionate public heath advocate for a safer and better community. She holds positions as RAC Councillor; Club Board member with oversight of the RAC Mobility agenda; Deputy Road User member on the Road Safety Council and member of the Research Review Committee. She is a Public Health Lecturer in the School of Medical and Health Science at Edith Cowan University with strategy, leadership and research experiences including education, health promotion, workplace wellness and safety. She has worked across all levels of Government and NGO agencies contributing to the development of the current Towards Zero Road Safety Strategy 2008-2020. She is qualified with graduate studies in Education; Health Science; Masters in Public Health; Bachelor of Science and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

WA Police
Corresponding member


Western Australian Local Government Association (WALGA)
Mal Shervill

Mal Shervill has been working at WALGA since February 2011 as the Policy Officer Road Safety. Mal has worked extensively with Local Governments on a variety of road safety related matters including speed and speed enforcement. Mal was involved in the implementation of the Local Government Speed Enforcement Program implemented in October 2012 based on research conducted by C-MARC. The Program provides Local Governments with a formal process to supply vehicle travel speed data for local roads where speeding is identified as a problem to the WA Police Force to inform road policing strategies.

Department of Health
Teresa Ballestas

Dr Teresa Ballestas is the Principal Medical Advisor, Public and Aboriginal Health Division, Department of Health.

Dr Ballestas has experience in the health sector both as a public health practitioner and a clinician.

Department of Education
Kerry O’Hare

Kerry O’Hare is a Manager of Road Safety and Drug Education in the Department of Education. She has a background in community education, youth education and road safety.

Department of Transport
Corresponding member


Insurance Commission of Western Australia
Corresponding member