Double Demerits

During holiday periods and long weekends, the following offences are subject to Double Demerits:

  • Drink or drug driving
  • Speeding
  • Failing to wear a seat belt and child restraint
  • Running a red light
  • Illegal use of a mobile phone while driving

The aim of the initiative is to encourage safe driving on long weekends and public holidays.

The information available on our website provides a simple interpretation of the law and is not intended to constitute legal advice. Full details of traffic offences and penalties are contained in the Road Traffic Code 2000.
 

Next Double Demerits Period

2017/18 Christmas and New Year

Friday 22 December to Sunday 7 January 2018 inclusive

2017 Double Demerits Dates

Below are the dates for Double Demerits for 2017:

Australia Day
No double demerits as public holiday falls on a Thursday

Labour Day
Friday 3 March to Monday 6 March 2017 inclusive

Easter
Thursday 13 April to Monday 17 April 2017 inclusive

Anzac Day
No double demerits as public holiday falls on a Tuesday

Western Australia Day
Friday 2 June to Monday 5 June 2017 inclusive

Queen’s Birthday
Friday 22 September to Monday 25 September 2017 inclusive

2017/18 Christmas and New Year
Friday 22 December 2017 to Sunday 7 January 2018 inclusive

Demerit points check

You can check your demerit point status on the Department of Transport website.
 
You will need your Driver's Licence Number, Date of Birth and Licence Expiry Date to complete the status check.